My comments on others blogs; No.1-6.

Blog comment no.1:

I think you have made an excellent first blog-post about the art-design of an enemy-design and why it differs from the other flying and buzzing creatures which are supposed to be the player. I also think that your personal and reflective thoughts show well through this text and it feels like I get to know you as a person, understanding your likings and dislikings. In this text you clearly show the changes from the process when you apply the pictures following the text. I like the un-formal and more personal style of the writing, since it suits the blog-format much more. If there is anything to improve it´s to maybe compare the enemy design with the player design to give a more easily understandable comparision between them since you mention them in the text.
But overall I like the blog-post, it´s funny and relatable, and I look forward to reading more of your stuff!

// Hanna Aho Lind – graphics team Troll

Link: https://nataliarvidsson.wordpress.com/2018/02/08/1-the-wasp-enemy/

Blog comment no.2:

As a fellow graphics student I must say that the design is skillfuly executed, I really enjoyed it and I think it is beautiful! There is a lot of details going on and the colourpalette is visually pleasing!

I think that it´s very good that you explain everything thorougly and detailed, complementing with pictures to further understandability- especially since it might be hard for someone outside of the gamegroup to understand what one means if one doesn´t show with pictures.

What I think was lacking in this blogpost though is a self-reflective part, what did YOU think about the design decisions? What did you think went well, or wrong? Any personal comments/thoughts about the asset or the process of making it?

Since it is a personal blog, it´s nice to see personality shine through the texts and to find out more about the person writing the blog! 🙂

But over-all I find the text well structured, well written and amusing to read. The process behind something is always interesting, and the end-product looks very nice in my opinion! 🙂

Link: https://wite5738.wordpress.com/2018/02/15/the-main-menu-as-a-narrative-tool/

Blog comment no.3:

Hi!
I can´t help but to notice that it seems like a part of your text has been cut off? The last sentence is not finished, it stops with an ” And” following by nothing? Maybe it was cut off by the wordpress site?

Other than that I think that maybe you could have written a bit more about how scrum has affected you, and in what ways it has effected your products (ex. art-assets) How did you feel about scrum? Did that feeling change? etc. 😀

But I like your way of writing, you get to the point quickly and don´t use over-complicated sentences, which could make people stop reading! 🙂 I think you have a clear goal with your text and it´s a wise choice to include a picture of the trello-board, otherwise it might have been hard to understand.

Maybe you could´ve included a more personal view and some more photos in this blogpost, but I like the simplicity as well! Good job! 🙂

// Hanna Aho Lind

Link: https://gd2developmentas.wordpress.com/2018/02/22/blog-3/

 

Blog comment no.4:

Hi Patrik!
The art looks totally amazing! I`m in awe!

My tip for you this week is to not judge your art or your assets too much, maybe it´s hard to see after staring at the art “blankly” for several hours a day, but the problems that you mention is barely seen.

Of course the different artstyles colliding can be seen a problem, and I think I speak for us all when I say that it´s a problem for most of us. Some persons can duplicate their styles and blend them into perfection, but for us in the first years this is something unusual, yet I dare to say not uncommon.

I can read that you tried with using the same teqnicues to achieve the “right look”, yet it was, as you said, not payed off. This can be frustrating, spending hours upon hours and then realizing that it still wasn`t correct. I would suggest you and your other artist to try and sit and draw together. It doesn`t have to be on the game, but if you want to be time efficient that would work too. Make sure you sit side by side so you both can see eachothers screens while drawing. Decide on a few pencils to use, and use only them. Decide on a few sizes, and use only theme. Try not having the same tools at all but trying to achieve the same quality of an asset (a good way of doing that would maybe be to choose something outside the game and learn from eachother how to draw in their way..) ex: draw a ball in comic style. Then ask yourselves, what tools did I use to achieve the comic look? If you have different ways of achieving the same thing, that might be how you should work.

In your text I can sense your irritation and frustration, it feels like you weren`t happy about this sprint, and writing this blogpost wasn`t your favourite thing to do. But the text also clearly convey how you feel about the situation. Overall the text is well written and once again the art is amazing!

Keep up the good work! 🙂

/ Hanna Aho Lind

Link to comment:

1st of March

 

Blog comment no.5:

Hello Chris Haibel, it´s me Hanna from team troll who is going to comment on your post this week!

You use a proper language and the sentences flow freely, it doesn´t feel too static or to loose. Good job!
I also think that you used the pictures well with your statements and it was easier following your thoughts when I could dubbel check your statistics.

Although I can´t really connect your title with you actual content, maybe specify it more next time?
And when you wrote that you have been more of a playtester than a “playteste” did you mean during both playtesting sessions?
I think it´s good to circulate the work and make sure that you take part of everything of the experience. Such as having scheduled “playtesting” “watching over our own game” “taking notes” etc. with your group. Maybe you can bring it with you until next, and final, playtesting session!

Overall good job and keep working hard!

Link to comment:

Testing, Testing, One…Two…Seven!? Oh No, Not Again!

 

Blog comment no. 6:

Hi!
Hanna from team Troll here!
I like that you choose to include us readers in your personal story and journey through the project end the course. It´s good too see where the words comes from!
I do think you maybe could have written more about your actual game, maybe showed some art or other assets that you were especially proud of or maybe thought could´ve gone better. I would have liked to read some more about how the game developed during the journey, what problems did it have, how did you overcome them etc.

Your text flows nicely and I had no problem understanding what you meant with what you wrote, good job!

It would have been fun to read more about how your experiences from changing minor affected the work, or maybe you personally!

Otherwise it is a nice blog and I liked that you included some pictures!

Keep up the good work!

// Hanna

Link to the blog+comment:

Game Design journal 6

Leave a comment